Click on photos to enlarge

Ribera del Duero

The land areas that are included in the Ribera del Duero Designation of Origin are located at the confluence of four provinces: Burgos, Segovia, Soria and Valladolid. The river Duero is the axis that unites over 100 towns spread over a winegrowing belt about 115 km long and 35 km wide.

The specific climate conditions characterising wine growing in Ribera del Duero, have a major influence over the course of the vine’s growth cycle, playing a key role in the development of the plant and the maturation of the grape. The quality of the wines obtained is to a large degree thanks to these particular conditions.

Ribera del Duero’s climate features moderately low rainfall (450 mm of rain a year) which, together with its dry summers (up to 40ºC) and long, cold winters (-18 ºC), mean there are wide temperature fluctuations throughout the year. This is in the context of a Mediterranean climate that propitiates the conditions suitable for a perfect grape development, leading to the production of a great wine.
Grupo Caballero